Cranberry Chicken

This recipe is for oven baking. I decided that it was a lazy day, so I put it into the slow cooker for 6 hours on low instead.

I was exhausted after prepping this. Seriously, I had to open a whole can all by myself!

Ridiculous the things I am expected to do!

Allan loves cranberry sauce.  So, whenever I can get my hands on fresh cranberries I buy a lot and make a couple of different sauces, one with orange juice and one with something a little more alcoholic. 

But, I seem to always have a can of cranberry sauce in the cupboard, as fresh cranberries are not all that accessible currently.  And for a really fast chicken dinner a can of cranberry sauce is perfect.

Of course, sticking it in the slow cooker is the fast part.  The cooking part is slow…

Cranberry Chicken

6 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
1 1/2 (1 ounce) packages dry onion soup mix
1 (16 ounce) can jellied cranberry sauce
1 cup French dressing

Place the chicken breasts in a glass or non-reactive baking dish.

Stir the onion soup mix, cranberry sauce, and French dressing together in a bowl until well blended. Pour over the chicken breasts. Cover the baking dish with plastic wrap, and refrigerate at least 8 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Remove plastic wrap from the baking dish, and cover loosely with aluminum foil.

Bake chicken in preheated oven until top is bubbly and slightly browned, about 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Or, you can take my route and throw it all in the slow cooker for 6 hours on low.

