Pizzert – Breakfast/Dessert Pizza

This morning Allan announced as he turned on the TV to watch an FA Cup Fixture that he wanted pancakes for breakfast.  I went to the kitchen and made the batter, I had just put it into the fridge to rest as I remembered that we had no syrup (hence having to make savoury pancakes on Pancake Tuesday earlier this week…).

Things were not looking good.  When I gave Allan the devastating news that the pancakes would have to wait until after we went to the store he looked so sad.  Pancakes are important in this house.

Actually everytime I make them the poor man has to listen to me go through a list of different pancakes and choose the type he wants. (For the record this morning he chose my Mom’s Drop Pancakes.)  And for him to have suffered that only to have the promised pancakes snatched from under his very nose was cruelty in the extreme.

That, and the fact that Bolton had just scored, seemed to be a harbinger of doom.

No dramatics in this house!

Then a flash of inspiration hit me.  There was a recipe I had found weeks ago and had kept, with the intention of making when my ongoing list of “Things I MUST Make” was extinguished.  Which sort of meant I wasn’t all that sure about it as my list is constantly being added to.

It wasn’t that I doubted that it was a good recipe, or was casting any aspertions on the blog I found it on (I read it all the time, so I do appreciate the recipes posted there), but it was just that it wasn’t calling my name.

But here was a situation where the recipe I was unsure of might actually be perfect.

Might.

I was still unsure.

But I make the batter and poured it into the pan, with no expectations for anything great.  I wanted to make it with chopped apples, but we didn’t have any apples.  Then I decided to make it with peanut butter and sliced bananas, but we had no bananas either.  So, I added white chocolate chips and dried cranberries, at which point I wondered why I hadn’t just made muffins.

See?  I really wasn’t sure about the whole notion of the recipe.  I didn’t even take a picture of the batter…

When it came out of the oven it looked okay. 

The light was terrible when I took this picture.  It didn’t look as pale.

When I turned it out I discovered that my Cooking Angel had decided that I had added too many white chocolate chips and had left them stuck to the bottom of the pan.  I didn’t argue and left them there.

And then I looked at the pizza.

And, it looked good!  It looked delicious and light and I felt bad for being so mean to the poor recipe.

I sliced it into quarters, and served it with applesauce.

It was delicious, light and not too sweet.  (My Cooking Angel knows her stuff and was so right about the white chocolate chips.)

It is a bit of cross between a pancake and a cake, more cakey but very light.

I apologised to the recipe immediately and will definitely be trying this again with other combinations.

Customizable Breakfast Pizzert
From “Chocolate Covered Katie” blog

Serves 2

• 70 grams/ ½ cup whole-wheat pastry flour
• 1 teaspoon baking powder
• 4 tsp sugar or 1 tsp stevia
• 100 grams (a little under 1/2 cup) water (or other liquid, such as juice or milk)
• 35g (2 tablespoons) unsweetened applesauce (or try using coconut oil, pumpkin, canola oil, mashed banana, or even baby food!)
• 1/8 tsp salt
• spices/extracts if you wish (I like adding a little cinnamon)
• A few handfuls of berries or chocolate chips or dried fruit or chopped

To make:
1. Mix everything together and pour into a lightly greased pan, or onto a baking sheet and roll to shape.

2. Cook in an cold oven at 420 degrees F for 10 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Top as desired:
Peanut butter and banana
Fruit

