Mini Skillet Meatloaf

Okay, first of all, yesterday evening I discovered that there was a conspiracy.  A conspiracy that somehow had me convinced that meatloaf was difficult to make.

A conspiracy that further led me to believe that without the North American genes I had no chance of making good meatloaf.  So, I didn’t try.

Then I found a recipe for “mini” meatloaves.  I have a thing about mini things, I don’t care what it is but I am completely convinced that it is better in mini form.  Just as one of my sisters is convinced that anything is better if it is on a stick, and she is right, I am convinced that anything is better made in miniature.

It’s just a fact.  Nothing can convince me otherwise.

And mini meatloaves sounded just too cute not to make.

I discovered that meatloaf isn’t hard to make.  Though it made me feel very clever.

There was only one sticky moment, and that was when I served it to Allan and declared that meatloaf was really just a North American meatball with different seasoning.

He gave me a really good impression of Bob’s death glare and said that next I would be saying that apple pie is just apples.  I said that it was. 

And I discovered that the death glare has two settings!

Allan (and Bob) both enjoyed the meatloaves.  Allan said that the seasoning was just right and that the sauce was piquant.  He asked that I make it again.

Which is always the indicator of success, and in this case a really good thing as I made eight mini loaves which means there is enough for another supper.

Mini Skillet Meatloaves
Ingredients
• 1/3 cup breadcrumbs
• 1/3 cup milk
• 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley
• 1 large egg
• 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
• 1 small onion, finely minced
• 1 teaspoon chili powder
• 2 cloves garlic, grated or finely minced
• 1 1/2 pounds meatloaf mix (ground beef, pork and/or veal)
• Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
• 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
• 1/2 cup ketchup
• 1 to 2 tablespoons packed light brown sugar
• 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

Directions
Mix the breadcrumbs, milk, parsley, egg, Worcestershire sauce, onion, chili powder and garlic in a large bowl.

Add the meat, season with salt and pepper and mix with your hands until combined.

Shape into six 3-to-4-inch oval loaves.  (I made eight rather than six).]

Heat the vegetable oil in a large nonstick skillet over high heat. Add the loaves and brown about 3 minutes per side.

Whisk the ketchup, sugar and vinegar in a bowl and brush a few tablespoonfuls over the meat. Add 1/2 cup water to the skillet, cover and simmer over low heat until cooked through, about 15 minutes.

Transfer the loaves to a plate. Add the remaining ketchup mixture to the skillet and cook over high heat, stirring, until thick, 3 to 5 minutes.

Put meatloaves back into skillet to coat in sauce for a couple of minutes.

