Maureen’s Shortbread

Shortbread. I love shortbread. I have made a few recipes but never found the one that matched Allan’s memory of the shortbread that his mom used to make for him in his childhood.

She was Scottish. What hope have I?

A few days ago a friend, Maureen, commented on a recipe I posted and gave me this. I had to try it.

I planned to wait for a couple of weeks to make it, as I constantly have a list of things I NEED to make at all times and this was going to be added to the list.

Then, I realised that I kept looking at it. And I just happened to have butter that was room temperature.

Fate, really.

And the best part?  Allan loved it and said it was better than his mom’s.  I reckon that was because I had a plaintive look on my face.  He said he could taste the love.  Add that to the stats that prove he is the best man ever in the Universe!

Thank you for sharing this recipe Maureen!  We really love it!

Maureen’s Shortbread

2 cups plain flour
1/2 lb/ 1 cup butter – room temperature
1/4 cup sugar
Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Sieve flour into bowl.  Add sugar and mix in.

Rub in the butter until like breadcrumbs but will not be dry.

Lightly grease and flour a baking tin. (I use a 9″ round tin.)

Put the mix into the tin and flatten it in very firmly with the back of a spoon.

Prick lightly with fork. (More for effect than anything)

Bake for about 30 mins or so.  I usually keep looking to see if it starts browning. I prefer not to brown it much as it goes too crispy.

Take out of oven and cut into wedges with a thin sharp knife straight away and lightly sprinkle with sugar when it is still hot.

Leave to cool.

I usually cut it into 16 pieces and it does keep well in a cookie jar.

(As the picture shows I didn’t cut it into 16 as Maureen does…)

Maureen added that “This makes quite thick shortbread. My Mum used to use 2 smaller tins and make it thinner. I have made it in a bigger square pan when using it to make strawberry shortbread and it is thinner and crispier.  I like to eat it as a cookie with a cup of tea but it is an excellent base for strawberry shortcake too.”

