Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies – The Chewy by Alton Brown

I don’t buy cookies anymore.  But I do always keep a roll (okay a couple of rolls…) of the dough for these cookies in the fridge, so we can have freshly baked cookies in under fifteen minutes, but not be tempted to eat an entire package in one sitting.

Maybe that is just me, though.  Allan has a lot more self control than me.  Admittedly, that isn’t too difficult, but it impresses me.

I also have a confession to make at this point.  I made these cookies this morning, purely so I could take the pictures I needed to share this recipe.  And I ate one. 

The Chewy
by Alton Brown

• 2 sticks unsalted butter – 1 cup
• 2 1/4 cups bread flour
• 1 teaspoon kosher salt
• 1 teaspoon baking soda
• 1/4 cup sugar
• 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
• 1 egg
• 1 egg yolk
• 2 tablespoons milk
• 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
• 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

Melt the butter in a heavy-bottom medium saucepan over low heat. Sift together the flour, salt, and baking soda and set aside.

Pour the melted butter in the mixer’s work bowl. Add the sugar and brown sugar. Cream the butter and sugars on medium speed.

Add the egg, yolk, 2 tablespoons milk and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Chill the dough, then scoop onto parchment-lined baking sheets, 6 cookies per sheet.

(This is where I vary a bit.  I roll the dough into a log and double wrap in cling film and keep in the fridge until I need it.  Then I cut “slices” off and bake as per the recipe.)

The way I keep the dough in the fridge.

The slices ready to be baked.

Bake for 14 minutes or until golden brown, checking the cookies after 5 minutes. Rotate the baking sheet for even browning. Cool completely and store in an airtight container.

