Breakfast Burritos

Happy Pancake Tuesday!

Being Shrove Tuesday what else would we have for breakfast but…

Breakfast Burritos.

We would have had pancakes but for the fact that I was heart set on making my mom’s roll up pancakes, only to discover that lemon juice is impossible to get in this community.

Seriously, people! Lemon Juice?

I get why we can’t get yeast, vanilla extract, most mouthwashes.  I get that.  I understand the reason.  But lemon juice?

The lack of lemon juice took me to Plan B. Canadian Pancakes. Not a bad back up at all.

Until I realised that we had used all the syrup over the weekend…

O_O

We are having savoury pancakes for supper if it is the last thing I do on this earth!

Breakfast Burritos are a great Plan C.  They would ordinarily be a great Plan A breakfast, but it is Shrove Tuesday after all.  A fact which really didn’t matter when we had the burritos instead.

Breakfast Burritos

  • Eggs
  • Salsa – mild, medium or hot depending on your preference
  • Grated cheese
  • Tortillas
  • Hot sauce – this is very optional

Scramble one egg per burrito.  Don’t cook completely, as they will finish in the oven.

Spread a tablespoon of salsa up the middle of each tortilla.

Top with scrambled egg and grated cheese.

Roll the tortilla tightly and place seam down on an oven proof plate.

Heat in preheated oven for five minutes or until cheese is melted.

