Sherri’s Biscuits

A friend asked me about biscuits today. I gave her the recipe I posted here a couple of weeks ago.

https://happydomesticity.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/biscuits/

I also told her I would be making a different recipe, with cheese, and would post the recipe here too.

So, here it is.

I was actually really pleased when Maureen asked, because I was trying to work out what to make for Allan’s supper to go with the other breast from the chicken I roasted for him yesterday.

Chicken and biscuits it was.

This is the first biscuit I ever tasted, albeit without the cheese. It was a friend, Sherri, who is an amazing baker, who made them for us and introduced me to the whole notion of biscuits. This is her family recipe, so you know it has to be good.

Tonight, I made them with the cheese. I had never tried that until tonight. I am glad I did. These are good!

Biscuits

2 cups flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
¼ cup oil or shortening (I use vegetable oil)
1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 450 degrees

Sieve and mix dry ingredients.

Cut in oil until it is like meal.

Add milk.

Knead for one minute. Add more flour if needed.

Roll out to approx one inch thick on lightly floured surface.

Cut to size. Use cookie cutter or glass.

Baked on greased baking sheet for 10 to 15 minutes.

To make cheese biscuits – add ½ cup of shredded cheese before kneading.

