Stir Crazy Cake

This may be the most aptly named cake ever for my life at the moment. 

Also, I want to point out that it is just 9:40 am and I am writing about a cake I baked and ate a slice of this morning, all before I took Bob out to play for twenty minutes.  Which means I was making a cake before 9 am, and eating it before 9:30 am.

I am a bad person.  Please keep your distance in case I infect you too.

Baking and eating a cake before even washing my hair.

O_O

But it isn’t really my fault.  I know that excuses are expected and I hate to disappoint.

Technically I have to bake early in the day because I work in the afternoons, and in the evenings when Allan is home he likes me to do things with him.  So, mornings are the best time to bake.

And I HAD to test it before writing about it, didn’t I? (It has a really delicate chocolate, coffee flavour with the hint of spice.)

So, in reality I am innocent of all wrong doing.  I had no choice.

I am a GOOD person! 

And then there comes the reason for the cake in the first place.

Living here is expensive, everything has to be flown up so costs a freaking fortune.  Yesterday I had to throw out some apples that we had bought the day before,  I threw out $6 worth of apples.  In actuality that translates as six apples.  They were rotten, not because I had forgotten about them, but because they just weren’t fresh when we bought them.  They are flown up and get frozen in transit and then defrost and look okay in the store but when you get them home…  It happens with all the fresh produce that comes up, which is limited in the first place.

The point of this is that food here is expensive so I hate wasting anything.  I have become the most frugal person in the world.  It used to be that I would think nothing of tossing out the left over half of a tomato.  No longer!  Everything is used completely.  Which is actually a really good thing, and something I will continue to do.

As kids we used to be amazed at a great aunt who froze left over sandwiches and put any left over boiling water from her kettle into a thermos.  I know that I won’t ever get to that stage of frugality but knowing what I now know, and realising that she was a product of rationing in the war, I no longer wonder at her.

For the last while I have tried to make the “right” amount of coffee in the mornings.  But there always seemed to be some left over.  So, I decided to research coffee cakes.  I couldn’t use my mom’s recipe as I didn’t have it, and I don’t want to bug her for more of her recipes just yet as she has just sent me a dozen hand copied from her recipe book which I remember fondly from years ago as full of her handwritten recipes giving credit to whoever shared it with her and stained with vanilla extract, falling apart at the binding.

Plus, I have google. 

After spending twenty minutes shaking my head in horror at the number of “coffee” cake recipes I discovered that didn’t actually have any coffee in them, instead claiming that “coffee cake” is so called as you eat it with coffee as opposed to actually having coffee in it, I came across what I thought was the most aptly named cake for my life ever.

Stir Crazy Cake!

I have to admit to being slightly stir crazy.   It is still so cold that it is hard to get out for more than a ten minute walk.  I celebrate on days when we can walk for the thirty minutes I aim for.   A few days ago I got cold burns.  We all need to get out more, but the severe weather stops it.  Hopefully in just a few weeks it will be less cold. 

Spring cannot come fast enough!

The name of this cake, added to the fact it actually contained coffee had me hooked.  I found it at 11pm.  I did well to wait until just after 8am to actually make it.  I have to admit I can’t remember where I found it, I think it was allrecipes but, of course, now I can’t find it again.

I am a bad person again, aren’t I?

There were things about this recipe that had me worried.  I tend to be a tad OCD about things, for example I NEED to sieve flour and cocoa before baking with it.  It’s not just that it gives better results but I need to.  It is a compulsion.  This recipe forbade that.

Also, there is the fact that I knew I had grown up on the day when I didn’t try to skimp on the number of dishes I created when I was cooking and baking.  When I was younger I hated washing up, and so would go to great lengths to avoid dirtying dishes.

The day I realised I was using an extra bowl instead of trying not to was a proud day.  I was all grown up at last!

So, that this was all done in the baking pan was a bit odd to me. 

But hey, what’s life if you can’t live dangerously from time to time? 

Yes, I did compare not using a sieve for flour and only using one pan to living dangerously.  I am not just grown up, I am officially old.

This cake is causing me to think about things I don’t want to…

But back to the cake.  I followed the directions.  I baked it, I sliced it, I took pictures, I ate it, I enjoyed it.  I took Bob outside and came back to write this.

Then I wondered what difference being cool would make to the cake.  I suddenly felt remiss in my actions.  I knew I had to test it.

So, at 10:15 am I had a second slice.

Just so I could check how the taste developed (yeah, right…).

It is good.  It doesn’t need frosting, though next time I will use less sugar on the top, 1/4 cup was a bit too much.

And there will be a next time.

I might even make coffee just so I can make the cake!

Decadent, huh?

Stir Crazy Cake

cups All-purpose flour
cups Sugar
½ cups Cocoa
2 teaspoon Baking Soda
½ teaspoon Salt
2/3 cups Cooking oil
2 tablespoon Vinegar
1 tablespoon Vanilla
2 cups Cold water or coffee
¼ cups Sugar
½ teaspoon Cinnamon

 Put flour, 1½ cups sugar, cocoa, soda and salt into an ungreased 13X9X2 inch metal baking pan.  (I don’t have a metal pan so I used glass and cut the cooking time by a few minutes)

Stir with a fork to mix; form 3 wells in flour mixture.

Pour oil into one well, vinegar in one and vanilla in one.

Pour cold coffee over all ingredients and stir with fork until well mixed.

Do not beat.

Combine remaining sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over batter.

Bake in 350 degree preheated oven for 35-40 mins.

It smells just as good as it tastes.  I definitely will be making this again!

Stir Crazy Cake, perfect for when you are literally going stir crazy.

