Devilled Eggs

I had never heard of devilled eggs until I came to Canada.  It was my first Thanksgiving, and all the teachers were getting together for a meal.  Someone brought devilled eggs and it appeared that these were an essential part of any Thanksgiving meal.

Since then I have learnt that they are actually okay for any occasion.  And being so easy to make, and so adaptable, I have made them many times since.

Plus, not only do they taste good, but they look pretty too!

I don’t have a recipe per se.  After hardboiling the eggs I let them cool slightly and peel them (which is the hardest part actually, as sometimes getting the shell off without taking clumps out of the egg is a pain.).

Cut the eggs in half lengthways, scoop out the yolk and mash in a bowl.

This is where the easy adaptations come in.  Usually I add mayonnaise, a small amount of yellow mustard, a dash of wuster sauce, salt and pepper.  Mix it all up and test for taste.

Other times I have added curry powder or chilli.  Just whatever I want at the time.

Once you are happy with the taste, either pipe or spoon the yolk mixture back into the whites.  Then decorate either with some cayenne pepper, sliced scallions, sliced cornichons, whatever you fancy.

They make a great appetiser or party finger food.

