Yeast free soda pop pizza dough

For a while, because of where we are living currently, we couldn’t get yeast.  I found a recipe for bread using pop instead of yeast, and it sounded so quirky I had to try it. 

And being that it was a Friday evening, which often calls for pizza, I decided to make the bread into a crust for pizza.

Allan’s pizza was bacon and cheese… always lots of cheese!

While I had pineapple and spinach with cheese… again, lots of cheese!

I know it sounds bizarre.  It is.  But it actually also makes a pretty decent pizza crust.  I made it a bit thicker than I would have liked, Allan prefers thin crust pizzas, so next time I will half the amount of dough.

Of course, I also made it as a loaf, just to try it.  But forgot to take a picture.  I prefer yeast bread, but in a pinch it makes a decent loaf of bread too.

Yeast Free Bread with soda pop

  • 2 1/2 cups self-rising flour (I used AP flour and added some baking powder)
  • 3 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can or bottle lemon-lime flavoured carbonated beverage
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease one 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  2. Combine the flour, sugar and carbonated beverage. Mix well and place into the prepared pan.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 45 minutes. Note: If using a sweetened carbonated beverage cut back on the sugar a little.

To make the pizza, I didn’t bake the dough in a loaf pan, but instead spread it onto a pizza sheet.

