Slow Cooker Cream of Vegetable Soup

It’s the end of February and it is still snowing…

So, I am on a soup kick.  It seems the only thing to do, that and take Bob out to let him make snow Bobs and be a Bob plough amongst all the other snowy things he loves to do while we slowly freeze. 🙂

Since I was little whenever I was feeling sick all I wanted was “yellow soup”.  It was packet soup that my mom would make for me, she made great soup from scratch, but yellow soup was so comforting.  Then the company had to take all the colouring out so yellow soup was really more of a white but it still was my go to comfort food.

When I discovered this recipe all that comfort came rushing back.  I love this.  Allan won’t touch it as “it looks funny”.

O_O

I reckon it is the dreaded “v” word that puts him off.  I have to sneak vegetables into things and hide them!

But back to my new favouritist (yes, I know that isn’t a word really, but this soup takes me back to when I thought it was) comfort soup.

Again, as with the French Onion Soup, a rubbish picture.  I definitely make better soup than I take soup pictures…

Slow Cooker Cream of Vegetable Soup

  • 1 large sliced onion
  • 2 cups mixed vegetables
  • 2 medium potatoes – cut into chunks
  • 2 cups vegetable broth or water and vegetable stock cubes

Cook on high for 4 to 6 hours until potato soft. 

Remove from slow cooker and blend.

Return to slow cooker and add 1 cup of milk.  Season to taste.  At this stage add more stock if you want a thinner soup.

Cook on high until hot.

Freezes well.

