Vanilla Cupcakes with strawberry filling and chocolate glaze

I woke up this morning with the obsessive need to bake cupcakes.  It wasn’t just that I wanted to bake cupcakes, I needed to. 

As I always have a long list of things I want to make I gave my husband the choice between a few different cupcakes and this is what he chose.

Vanilla cupcakes with strawberry filling and chocolate glaze.

Cupcakes

  • 1 ½ cups cake flour
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ cup butter – at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ cup milk
  • ½ cup strawberry preserve

Sieve dry ingredients together. 

Gradually beat in butter.

Beat in sugar and mix thoroughly.

Beat in eggs.

Add vanilla and milk. Beat until just mixed.

Fill cupcake liners 1/3 full.  Add spoonful of preserves in centre.  Cover with batter.

Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out almost clean.


Frosting

  • ¼ cup butter
  • 3 heaping tbsps cocoa powder
  • ½ lb icing sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • ¼ cup milk

Melt butter.

In separate bowl, mix together cocoa and sugar.

Add butter, vanilla and milk.  Beat at low speed until mixed.

Dip cupcakes in glaze.

