Carrot Cake

It was my birthday, and my gorgeous husband decided he was going to make me a cake.

Which was not only exceptionally sweet, but also extremely challenging as he never cooks, apart from the odd Kraft dinner, and has never in his life attempted to bake anything.

But he was determined and I knew he could do it.

We live, currently, in a fly in community that has only one store, with limited stock and absolutely no cafes, bakeries, restaurants or any of the other things we used to take for granted.

He knew that my favourite cake is carrot cake so he asked me to give him a recipe, and to be on “stand by”.

I interpreted that as standing by taking pictures. 🙂

And, truthfully, the carrot cake he baked was the best carrot cake I have ever tasted.  I reckon that the extra love he added made it extra special.

He said that it looked a mess, but I thought it looked just perfect.  And it was so incredibly moist.  I was not being kind when I raved about how good it was.  This really was a great carrot cake.

Carrot Cake:
2 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 cups grated carrots

Mix sugar, oil, and eggs. Sift together flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Add to first mixture and combine. Add carrots and mix well. Pour into a greased and floured (or Baker’s Joyed) pan (Bundt, sheet cake, 9 x 13 Pyrex) and bake until done, 25 to 50 minutes, depending on the pan you use. Cool completely.

Icing:
1 stick (1/4 pound) regular butter, softened
1 package (8 ounce) cream cheese
1 pound powdered sugar
1 cup pecans, chopped finely
2 teaspoons vanilla

In large bowl, cream butter and cream cheese. Add sugar and vanilla and blend, then mix in the nuts. Spread on cooled carrot cake.

