Silver Dollar Pancakes

Pancakes…

Sometimes there is just nothing better than a lazy breakfast in bed and pancakes seem perfect for most of those occasions.

The pancakes I grew up eating were generally piping hot large thin crepes rolled with sugar and lemon gobbled up by my sister and me alternately as our poor mother slaved over the stove trying to cook them faster than we could wolf them up.  She never could.

Or thick Scotch pancakes the size of your hand eaten cold and slathered in butter, given to us by our grandmother when we ran into her kitchen ravenous from playing in the farmyard.

When I first made pancakes for my husband it was after I had moved to Canada and I wanted desperately to impress him with my culinary skills.  No mean feat considering my mother’s dire warnings to him before our wedding about my lack of ability in the kitchen.

I will always remember one of the sweetest compliments he ever paid me, it was just after we were engaged.  I was making him dinner and he told me with complete sincerity that I was the best potato peeler he had ever known.

It made me laugh then and it stills does whenever I think about it.  I asked what he meant and he hesitated before saying that I peeled them really thinly.

Isn’t he a sweetheart?

In all honesty, while I am no gourmet chef, my mother’s opinion of my cooking really wasn’t very accurate.  She rarely would come to my house to eat, my sisters had children so she preferred to spend time with them, so naturally when we ate as a family it was usually in their homes.

However, the pancake issue was a big one.  Did I make the crepes of my childhood or seek out a Canadian recipe.

Plus I had the pressure of knowing how wonderful the pancakes his mom used to make for him were, and her secret of spreading some jam between the pancakes in the stack.

I choose the Canadian route, and thanks to Delia Smith was very successful in all Canadian Pancake making ventures.  Plus, I borrowed the idea of spreading jam between the pancakes.  Hey, I needed all the advantages possible!

This past weekend when my husband asked for pancakes, I discovered a recipe for Silver Dollar Pancakes and decided to deviate from my trusted Delia recipe, which was brave.  For in all things Delia I trust.

But once I made these, I knew the risk had been worth it.

Silver Dollar Pancakes

(about the size of an apple across)

  • 1/2 cup self-rising flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Whisk flour, sugar, and baking soda together in a medium bowl. Make a well in center. Whisk buttermilk, oil, egg, and vanilla together in another bowl until blended. Pour into well and whisk just until moistened. Let stand 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, coat a large nonstick skillet with vegetable cooking spray and place over medium heat until hot but not smoking.

For each pancake, pour 1 tablespoon batter into skillet. Cook until bubbles appear all over cakes and begin to burst, about 3 minutes.

Turn and cook until undersides are golden, about 1 to 2 minutes more. Makes: 16 pancakes.

The syrup was simply some maple syrup heated with raspberry jam, drizzled over the pancakes. 

Who am I kidding?  It was poured… generously.

