Happy Birthday Bobby!

Our puppy, Bobby, more commonly known as Bob, was one in October past.  Of course, being that he is not actually a dog but instead my baby, his first birthday had to be celebrated with due pomp and circumstance.

We had originally planned to have a party for his friends (yes, I am well aware how crazy this makes me sound but hey, deal with it!).  But then we went and moved from the middle of nowhere to the armpit of nowhere, so he had no friends to come to his party. 😦

But that didn’t deter me.  I was determined that he would have a party and enjoy it, darnit!

I really did spend a lot of time planning his party, even though it was just going to be Bob, my husband and me in attendance.  My husband, being the ever patient soul, who seems to actually enjoy my insanity played along wonderfully and let me go for it.

I searched out a recipe for a cake that Bob could eat and made party food that was partially puppy friendly and partially people friendly.

The cake was beef and vegetable flavoured and Bob really enjoyed the three slices we allowed him.  The rest froze beautifully and Bob devoured it with relish when I produced it weeks later.

But enough of the talking, make with the cake as Bob would say… (if of course, he was actually able to talk…)

Bob’s Beef Birthday Cake

Ingredients:

       2 cups all-purpose flour

       1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

       2/3 cup butter, softened

       1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

       1 jar of strained beef baby food

       3 large eggs

       1/2 cup bacon bits

Directions:

       Stir flour and baking powder together in a mixing bowl.

       Cream together the butter, oil, baby food and eggs.

       Mix the dry ingredients with the wet mix, and then stir in the bacon bits.

       Pour into a greased and floured 8″ x 8″ baking pan.

       If desired, sprinkle a light layer of bacon bits on top as a frosting substitute.

       Bake in a 350 degree F oven for approximately 35-40 minutes or until the center of the cake springs back when lightly poked. Oven times may vary.

I didn’t add the bacon bits, purely because where we live there is only one store – unless we want to take a plane flight… – and they don’t sell bacon bits.

So, not only did poor Bob not have friends coming to his party he was missing out on the bacon bits.

He didn’t seem to mind too much.

The cake actually looked really good.  I asked my husband if he wanted to try it, but for some reason beef flavoured cake didn’t seem to do it for him.

But cake isn’t all that is needed for a birthday party.  So, here is a picture of the birthday boy waiting patiently for the party to start.

He was being so patient, especially considering he was within mouth distance of roast chicken and birthday cake amongst other things.

Happy Birthday Bob!

