Grated Potato Cake

Potatoes.

Yum.

I love potatoes.  Every way.  There isn’t a potato dish that I have ever met and not loved. 

But, before I allow myself to go off on a rapture about all that is wonderful about these humble root vegetables maybe I should curtail myself to the wonder that is this potato cake.

I had never heard of these before.  And when I discovered them on my quest for a menu for our night in France on our food world tour I was determined.

After all, what was not to love?  Potato and cream…

Grated Potato Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 pound potatoes, such as russets, peeled and grated
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • salt and pepper to season

Heat the oven to 400°F/200°C. Generously oil or butter a baking sheet. Squeeze the water out of the grated potatoes in a tea towel, and put the potato into a bowl. Toss in the cream, salt, and pepper to coat evenly. Taste to check the seasonings. Spoon the potatoes into small pancakes on a baking sheet.

Bake 15 minutes. Flip and bake 15 minutes longer, until cooked through, crisp-edged, and golden. Keep warm on a serving platter until serving.

I ate four.  And I don’t regret it one little bit!

