Garlic Soup

When I was choosing the menu for the French leg of our “world tour” I wanted to choose things that either we had never tried before, or things I was afraid of trying.  The desserts both, yes both, I couldn’t choose, were things I was afraid of.

This garlic soup was something we had never tried before.  And as we are both garlic fans I reckoned this would be a winner.

The fact that there was a poached egg in the soup was the decider.  Have you ever had anything with a poached egg that wasn’t good?!

It was a very simple recipe, ending up with a delicately flavoured soup which was great with the addition of the lightly poached egg. 

The picture isn’t great, I am far from a good photographer, and there was a lot of excitement at the time, with me asking my husband about a zillion times if he thought it looked good.

Also, another confession, following on from the lack of vanilla pod, I couldn’t get fresh sage.  I reckon that the dried stuff was okay, but think that the real deal would have been much better.  The dried sage definitely coloured the soup slightly gray which I would like to have avoided.  But I had to work with what I could get.

It has made me resolve to grow my own herbs, as I couldn’t get the tarragon I needed for the chicken dish either.  So, that in itself, is a result.

Garlic Soup (serves 4)

  • 1 head of garlic
  • 8 sage leaves
  • 4 eggs 
  • Gruyere cheese
  • French bread

Peel garlic cloves.  Put all, except one of the cloves, unchopped in a large pan with the sage, a little salt and two litres of water.

Bring to the boil then simmer for 20 minutes.

Remove garlic and sage.

Discard sage and crush garlic.

Put crushed garlic back into pot and add some pepper.

Simmer for a few minutes then poach the eggs in the soup.

Meanwhile cut some bread, rub with remaining garlic clove and toast in the oven.  (I might have forgotten to rub the bread…)

When one side is toasted put the cheese on the other and toast that also.

Put a slice of bread with cheese into each bowl, top with egg and add soup.

Dessert and starter completed I moved on to the main dishes.

