White Chocolate Banana Loaf

What do you do when you have bananas over ripening?  In my case there are two answers, a fruit smoothie or bake something.

Today despite the fact that I am literally melting all over the floor I decided that baking was the only option.  Yep, on a hot day the best thing to do is crank up the oven and create more heat.

I have never claimed to be smart.

But, I have mitigating circumstances for this particular decision.  I have had a recipe calling to me for weeks.

White Chocolate Banana Loaf.

What’s not to love?  White chocolate and banana baked together into a yummy concoction.  Sounded like heaven to me.

That’s better… whipped cream on the side…

The heat made it interesting, almost an Iron Baker Challenge, in the sense of who was going to win… the heat or me?

The whole heat and oven thing really didn’t occur to me until it was too late.  I knew it wasn’t just my imagination that I was melting when I was standing in front of the oven testing the loaf for done-ness and my husband asked if I was coming out of the kitchen or should he get a fan for me.  Spoilt, huh?

I did learn a few lessons today, though.  Firstly, when you turn the oven to the right temperature to preheat, you really do need to push the start button too.

*Blonde*

There was something going on though with me and start buttons today as I set the dryer and washer and somehow missed starting them too.  I am blaming the heat.  Did I mention how hot it is?

Anyway enough rambling. 

Banana White Chocolate Loaf

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups pastry flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup mashed banana
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate, chopped, plus some for drizzling

 

Directions

Banana White Chocolate Loaf

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease and flour a 6 ½ x 3-inch loaf pan.

Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla extract.

In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add to creamed mixture alternately with banana.

Fold in chopped white chocolate. Scrape batter into pan and spread evenly.

Bake for 30 minutes until a tester inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.

Allow to cool 10 minutes in the pan, then turn out onto a plate.

It smelt so good!

To Assemble

Melt white chocolate and drizzle on to cake.

And it tasted really good too.

