Taco Time!

My husband has a favourite quote, actually he has lots but this one is relevant right now, “You never think it will happen inyour own family.”

He is referring to me being vegetarian, the quote coming from a movie.  Don’t ask me which one as most movies we watch at home I see about half of as somehow, magically, I end up asleep.  I say it is because we watch a lot of movies in bed and I get too relaxed, he reckons it is age.

Doesn’t score him a lot of brownie points, that comment.

Anyway, the thing is that I am vegetarian, while he is very much a meat eater.  Thankfully he is not of the same opinion as my Dad.  Kill it, cut off its horns, wipe its ass and throw it on the grill.

You can see how that might be tough at times, though.  Basically most nights I cook two meals.  Add into that the fact that he could happily survive forever on spaghetti with meat sauce and there are days I am pulling my hair out trying to come up with something I can make two ways.

Yesterday I decided to make tacos, something I had been threatening for a while now since we slung a box of taco shells into the shopping cart one day.  My husband prefers soft tortillas and I have never had tacos before so it was something for “another day”. 

I had been doing a lot of research, trying to find the authentic way to make tacos, coming up with lots of different recipes.

So, I took what I thought would be the best bits of each and went for it.

I adopted the slow method of cooking the meat sauce and even tried one suggestion of draining of the gravy and freezing it for a while to make skimming off the fat a bit easier.  It seemed to be worth it.

My husband was happy with the meat sauce, saying it tasted just how it should.  (It is tough cooking something you can’t check for taste.)  Though I reckoned his reaction to them backed up his words.

We had tacos two nights in a row…

Success, indeed.

And I got to use the taco tray we bought from a fundraising catalogue because we couldn’t find anything else we wanted to buy!

Beef Taco Sauce

  • Ground Beef – 1 lbs
  • Salt – 1/2 tsp
  • Chilli powder – 1 tbsp
  • Paprika – 1 tbsp
  • Cumin – 1/2 tsp
  • Garlic powder or two cloves – 1/2 tsp
  • Bell pepper – ½ medium
  • Onion – ½ medium

Put beef in large sauce pan and add salt, chilli powder, garlic powder, cumin and paprika.  Cover with water.

Bring to a boil.  Simmer for about an hour.  Check after fifteen minutes and break up meat lightly to avoid lumps.  Check from time to time to ensure it isn’t boiling dry.  Add more water as needed.

Add pepper and onion and simmer for another 20 – 30 minutes.

Remove from heat and pour into strainer over a bowl.  Let sit for approx fifteen minutes to make sure all liquid is removed. 

Put liquid into freezer for about five minutes then scoop fat from surface.  Should only be a little liquid left, about ½ cup.

Bring liquid to the boil and dissolve 1 tsp of corn flour into ¼ cup of cold water.  Add to liquid and simmer for five minutes.  Fold into meat.

Vegetarian Taco Sauce

Basically the same as the above, except using dried soy protein and adding some tomato paste.

