Dutch Butter Cake – Boter Koek

When I first moved to Canada my husband took me to visit some of his long time friends. We had a great day, getting to know each other and Allan’s friends taking pleasure from my reactions to their stories of him.

They were such gracious hosts, making us an amazing lunch of grilled vegetables, steaks and salad. Followed by a cake I just couldn’t give justice to when I was trying to describe it later when telling my mom about it.

It was Boter Koek, a Dutch Butter Cake or Almond Cake. A heavenly shortbread type cake with a deliciously frosting that just made each bite taste more-ish.

Thankfully the recipe was shared willingly and it is something I have made many times with great success.

I made this to take to school one day and explained what it was. Then, I had to laugh later when someone told me it was just like a Dutch Almond Cake their mother used to make.

It is so simple and has such great flavour. A combination of cake and shortbread. I don’t particularly like almond flavour in desserts, but in this it is sublime!

It is a really easy recipe, that really needs to be tasted to be believed.

Margareth’s Boter Koek

1 cup sugar
½ cup brown sugar
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
2/3 cup margarine
2 eggs – slightly mixed
2 tsp almond extract

Mix dry ingredients and make a slight well.
Melt butter, stir in eggs, saving a little egg, add extract.
Pour into two round, greased pans.
Flatten with fingers or spoon. Brush with reserved egg.
Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

If you want it special, try some almond icing.
1 tbsp soft butter
¾ cup icing sugar
½ tsp almond extract or 2 or 3 tsp hot water

