Bread and Butter Pudding

Somehow the next day some of the chocolate brioche loaf remained.  And looking at it made me think of other comfort foods.   And somehow it just seemed right to use it to make a decadent bread and butter pudding.

Somethings just seem right, don’t they?!

I used my grandmother’s recipe, adapting it slightly.   Instead of cinnamon, I used nutmeg.  And I replaced the raisins with dried cranberries, as my husband adores anything with cranberries.

Measurements are vague for some of the ingredients.

 Bread and Butter Pudding.

 Day old loaf

  • butter
  • 2 cups milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • raisins

Butter a 9 x 9 oven safe dish.

Thickly slice a day old loaf.

Butter both sides of the bread and arrange in the dish.

Scatter raisins over and between the bread slices.

 004

The pudding before the liquid is added.

Beat the eggs and add the milk and sugar.  Beat well.

Pour over the bread, ensuring to push the slices down to cover in the liquid.

Bake in a preheated oven at 400 degrees for approximately 45 minutes or until golden brown and the pudding rises back when you push gently on the centre.

 005

Fresh from the oven.

The smell that filled the kitchen was wonderfully reminiscent of my grandmother’s farmhouse kitchen. 

006

All that is missing is some cream.

I would love to be able to say how long the left overs are good for.  I can’t.  There weren’t any.

