Chocolate Brioche Heaven

Yesterday I was feeling in the need for something luxurious, something to help soothe the colder weather.  Something that wasn’t too sweet, meaning that cakes and gateaus were out of the question, yet something that felt decadent.

I love the snow and the beauty of the trees at this time of year and there are occasions when I long for something warm and comforting. 

A friend had given me a wonderful recipe that her mother had used, and I hadn’t had time to try it out.  But yesterday it called to me.

So I set out to make chocolate brioche.

My history of bread making is short.  I only gathered the courage to make bread for the first time just a few months ago.  And my first attempt was far from successful.

But, at least, I discovered that hot water kills yeast!

Following the recipe was easy.  But it felt strange.  The yeast was treated in a different way to the other bread recipes I had used.  Yet I perservered.  And it was worth it.

I changed the recipe slightly in that I used a loaf tin to make a loaf, as opposed to the individual brioches the recipe suggested.

001

Chocolate Brioche Loaf

The result was a rich, buttery chocolate brioche that satisfied my need for luxury and yet wasn’t at all heavy.

My husband enjoyed it so much that I have had to promise to make it again, and soon. Always a great reception to any new recipe. 

Chocolate Brioche

  • 2 ¼ cups flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 sachet yeast
  • 3 beaten eggs – plus extra beaten egg for glaze
  • 3 tbsp hand hot milk
  • ½ cup diced unsalted butter
  • Chocolate

 Sift flour and salt into large bowl and stir in sugar and yeast.

Make a well in centre and add eggs and milk.

Beat eggs and milk well gradually adding surrounding dry ingredients to make a fairly soft dough.

Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and knead well for about five minutes until smooth and elastic, adding a little more flour if needed.

Add butter to the dough, a little at a time, kneading until each addition absorbed before adding the next.

When all the butter has been incorporated, and small air bubbles appear, wrap in clear film and chill for at least one hour.  (if you intend on using for breakfast it can be chilled overnight)

Lightly grease 12 individual brioche tins (or muffin tin).

Divide dough into 12 pieces and shape each into a smooth round.

Place a chocolate square inside each round then bring up sides of dough and seal.  Use a little beaten egg if necessary.

Place brioches, seam side down, in the tins.

Cover and leave in warm place for about 30 minutes or until doubled.

Preheat oven to 400.

Brush risen brioches with egg.

Bake for 12 – 15 minutes or until well risen and golden brown.

Place on wire rack and allow to cool slightly.  Be careful as the chocolate will be very hot.

They should be served warm and can be reheated if needed.

They will freeze well for up to one month.  Thaw at room temperature and reheat on baking sheets in a low oven.

003

