Strawberry Meringues

The very first thing I learnt to bake was pavlova, which was followed by meringues as they are basically the same thing.  I was always so proud of them and have never grown out of that feeling of accomplishment every time I make them.  My mom taught me to add cocoa to make chocolate meringues and pavlova, but until I found this post I had never thought of making them with jell-o powder in them to flavour them.

Pink!

What else do you need, apart from strawberries and cream to layer two together?

Strawberry Meringues

Strawberry Meringues

Strawberry Meringues

(easybaked.net)

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/8t. salt
  • 3 1/2 T. raspberry Jell-O
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1T. vinegar
  • Confetti sprinkles

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

Beat egg whites with salt until foaming.  Add Jell-O and sugar as you beat mixture and beat until it stands in peaks.  Add vinegar and gently mix.  (if you want, you can add a few mini chocolate chips at this point)

Spoon or pipe into small circles on a cookie sheet covered in parchment paper.

Sprinkle with confetti sprinkles or jimmies.

Bake at 250 degrees for 25 minutes, turn oven off and allow to sit for an additional 20 minutes.

Remove from oven and allow cookies to cool completely.

Strawberry Meringues with strawberries and cream

Strawberry Meringues with strawberries and cream

