Slow Cooker Cream of Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup with Cheese

I started to make this last night at midnight when I was cleaning out the fridge because I couldn’t sleep.  I would have liked to have remembered that I had some broccoli before it started to lose the brilliant green but soup is more forgiving than most things.

The fact that I was ranting about not being able to sleep and various other stupid things at the time meant that I chopped the onion but forgot to add it until I got up again at 4 a.m.

I gave it six hours on low in total to cook it which meant the onion only got two hours, but as I adore onions I reckoned a few bits of onion with some slight bite would be a bonus.  I used my submersion blender to blend it smooth.   I had intended to keep a few “lumpy” bits, but Echo (our new puppy – did I mention we got another puppy?!) was chewing on a bone between my feet and everytime I moved to give her space she moved to get back in between my feet so I sort of lost concentration on the soup.

Two strikes against me already!

I left it to cool at this stage as 6 a.m. isn’t my favourite time to eat soup, funnily enough.  Though I was tempted, but I wanted to make it at a time that Allan would have some too.

Then I added the seasoning, wuster sauce (I am British), the cheese and cream.

It makes a really hearty soup.  This is not a diet soup.  For that go to Nigella’s Temple Soup!

Though maybe changing the cream for skim milk or 1/2 and 1/2 would lighten it a bit.  And cutting the cheese a bit, or completely.  But I don’t care right now, this is perfect as it is!

Soup!

Slow Cooker Cream of Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup with Cheese

• 1/2 medium head of cauliflower, separated into florets and similar amount of broccoli
• 1 medium onion, chopped
• 4 cups vegetarian stock
• 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
• 1 cup Cheddar cheese, grated
• salt and pepper
• 2 cups cream

Combine cauliflower, onion, carrot, celery, and chicken stock in slow cooker. Cover and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.

Puree in blender to desired consistency.

Return to slow cooker. Blend in cream, Worcestershire, and cheese. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Stir to mix well. Turn control to high and heat through; garnish servings with chopped chives, if desired.

Serves 4 to 6.

